Author Topic: Jrap's Dice Shack  (Read 428 times)

Jrap

• League of Geeks | Developer
    • View Profile
Jrap's Dice Shack
« on: June 26, 2017, 02:34:45 PM »
A thread to keep my dice and progress posts in! I've been making workshop stuff for like three years now  and I'm always looking for weird ways to make game objects less gamey. Like my first dice skin, using a 35mm photograph:

For this skin I want to use this dreamy B&W photo I took a while ago, I loaded some film under my shirt and dove into the dance floor of the only club in my hometown. I wasn't sure at all what settings would work or what aperture to use, and I couldn't actually see anything, so I wound on the film and took a shot with every different aperture my pentax had, hoping that the strobe light of the dance floor would trigger at the right time. I shot 48 exposures blind like this, and managed to develop one or two good images:

The best way to digitise a film photograph like this is to scan the negative and invert the color digitally, which I did, but the resolution still isn't really high enough to use in armello, so I'm compromising and doubling the neg's original size, and cherry-picking elements I like , like using the darker edges of the picture for the rot symbol:

and this person's rave-hand in the air for the swords:

A tip, what I'm doing here is selecting the squares in the UV, expanding the selection by 1px, and inverting it to crop the rest of my photograph out.

For the moon, I really liked the double-exposed faces of dancers and wanted to get these two in:

**(they are double-exposed because the only light hitting the film is that of the strobe light, which fired twice while the shutter was open, and the dancers were in different positions for each strobe flash, so they show up in both positions)