Author Topic: A in Depth Analysis of Random Elements in Design Using Armello as a Case Study  (Read 910 times)

Chariot Rider

• View Profile
Armello Randomness

The other day I was talking to a friend and I mentioned Armello and told him to look it up.  Letter that day he texted me and said it looked interesting but he felt it was too random.  Later I talked with him to try convince him otherwise, and I felt like posting my thoughts here because I feel this might make for an interesting discussion.  Also disclaimer I am not a game developer (at least not yet), but I have been throwing together some prototypes and I generally like to think I know at least slightly what I am talking about.  Anyway without further ado let's get into this.

Map Layout
Map layout in any game is one of the most important parts in any game, so getting it right is important but before I jump in with Armello's map I want to ask a question.  If a developer could make a symmetrical map to ensure balance, why would you give that up?  I believe there are many reasons why but the reason I believe Armello went down this path was to create a reliance on knowing the mechanics, as opposed to memorizing layouts.