Author Topic: A Free to Play model  (Read 2956 times)

Syle

• View Profile
A Free to Play model
« on: September 20, 2015, 08:11:42 PM »
This is my first post on the forum. So, hello!

I've been playing Armello for a little while now. I probably played a dozen or so match (online). I'd say I am still learning. I've taken notice of one thing that prevails when playing online; queue time. I've read the forum enough to know that this issue has been brought forward but I am not here to rehash this point but more to expose my thought.

Most match I've played online, about 2 times out of 3 I would be facing against opponent named such as "Codex" and "Lumaemu". It does not take a lot to conclude that those people are using pirated version of the game and still getting access to the multiplayer component of the game. In some way, its good and bad. Without those 2/3, queue time would probably be forever and I would have stick to play vs AI.

Now, Armello is a fairly new game as in it has been recently released. Though a lot of people have been playing long before that, thanks to backers privilege (and pirate privilege as well I guess). Given the quality of the game, its potential and how positive the review are, Armello will garner more popularity for sure but will that be enough to sustain a healthy Multiplayer mode?

I feel that Armello is a game that would have benefit a lot from using a F2P model. F2P would help exposing the game to even more people which would further enhance the Multiplayer experience (specially queue time).

Some component which would help sustain the game and the developer would be:

(i) Selling Heroes. We currently have 8 heroes. In a F2P world, we'd have, say, 4 Heroes to begin with and then the other 4 purchasable with either in-game credit (earned through playing the game) or real money.

(ii) Cosmetics. Hero costume? Alternate hero? Those would be real money exclusive.