Author Topic: Amber's Luck and Dungeon Results: an Empirical Study  (Read 4766 times)

Banzailizard

• View Profile
Amber's Luck and Dungeon Results: an Empirical Study
« on: September 12, 2015, 03:34:41 PM »
On starting up Armello for the first time I took a look at the roster of characters and picked Amber.  The parasol Katana seemed somewhat entertaining weapon.  I also rather related to checking the box for curiosity ten times over.  So I played my game and had fun. 

While I am relatively new to this game, (maybe having 20 single player games under my belt), I have played enough games in general to like to pull apart mechanics.  So I got to thinking how lucky is Amber?  (I warn you right now, I do not actually answer this, things are less straight forward then they seem).

The Method

The simplest way would be to just ask here, but that would be boring.  As a result I took the simplest experimental way; I would started a game where I could reach a dungeon on my first turn, get a result, quit, and reload.  Run 30 trials of this, and 30 on another hero.

What is key here is the way her trait reads; she is more likely to get positive results, rather then more likely to get a better value on positive results.  Thus let us compress all positive outcomes (magic, gold, follower, and treasure) into a positive outcome and all negative results (banes, and arguably portals) into a negative outcome.  Voila, blunt an instrument as it is, we have a binomial equation. 

X = P*N

Use our experimental data, we can slap in a p hat value, n = 30 and we have an EV (X) for Amber.  Do the same for the "unlucky" hero,  set up a ratio between there EV's,  and multiply the result by 100.  Now we have a % difference.

Why this matters:

Well besides my being curious, it matters when trying to make a strategic decision.  In fact I will use this screenshot from my game.